The Guilt Bucket

If we were each given a sand bucket to show how guilty we felt on any given day, mine would often be filled to the brim.  Then, I would notice that your bucket had more guilt sand than mine, and I would feel guilty; which would result in me scooping more sand into my bucket.  If you also had a guilt propensity, then we could potentially spend hours wrangling over the sand in each other’s bucket.

guilt bucket

I was wrestling through my inclinations toward guilt not long ago.  I asked God, “What is the deal with me and guilt?  Why do I so often feel like my guilt overshadows me?”  his answer startled me into stunned, silent tears.

Your guilt is, at its root, arrogance.  You are really saying that I am not big enough or holy enough or even smart enough to handle giving you the “right” discipline.  You are essentially telling me that you know better than I do what you deserve.  Your insistence on feeling guilty is a disguised way for you to tell me that my grace is not enough.

Ouch.

I claim to believe that He is good.  I claim to believe that His love never ceases.  I claim to believe that Scripture is God-breathed and true…all of it.

Then it’s time for me to live out what I believe…and embrace the following as my reality:

1Therefore, no condemnation now exists for those in Christ Jesus2 because the Spirit’s law of life in Christ Jesus has set you free from the law of sin and of death. (Romans 8:1-2)

No more (self)-condemnation.

No more guilt bucket.

Just Grace.

 

Leave a Reply

