Thankful Thursday – Lilacs and Healing

I am thankful that

God heals memories.

Lilacs were once my favorite flowers,

until they were

ruined by my first husband’s choices.

You can read about how their fragrance only held mockery for me

here

However, starting that day, in that chapter of my life,

lilacs have reminded me of happy childhood days

and nights.

When my son and I visited Mackinaw Island on a field trip,

everyone went out of their way on the Island to make us feel like royalty.

The scent of lilacs accompanied us everywhere we went.

On many of our walks in Holland, James and I have been pleased

to catch their familiar fragrance wafting over.

Recently on our trip up north,

I marveled at how often we were surprised

to discover wild lilacs.

Their heady fragrance was almost intoxicating as I smiled

and genuinely

celebrated my healing.

My heart was no longer scarred or shackled.

Instead, I discovered that it has been stretched

to hold more love than I ever imagined.

I only wish that I could somehow

post their beautiful fragrance

online for you.

May your scars be healed, may your heart be stretched and never shackled,

and may love and goodness

heal your wounds.

Love,

Gracie K.

McGulpin Point Overflow Lilacs

McGulpin Point Overflow Lilacs

McGulpin Point Overflow Lilacs

McGulpin Point Overflow Lilacs

Leave a Reply

