Childhood Clowns

My (possibly disturbing) divulgence is in response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Toy Story.”  Before the movie “It” ruined clowns for the majority of the world, I was an avid fan of the face-painted comedians known as clowns. When I was three years old, my parents let me start a collection of anything I wanted to pick. I remember sitting in the shopping cart at Thrifty Acres, zeroing in on the clown figurine shown left in the photo below.

Clowns, first and last. © Gracie K Harold 2015

Clowns, first and last. © Gracie K Harold 2015

At one point in time, I had over 350 figurines. I had a balloon- animal- making clown at my graduation open house, and voluntarily did temporary tattoos for children at a church carnival while dressed in full clown garb and make-up.

I never treated my figurines like they were friends, or companions, but instead, my collection served as a fun catalyst for friends and family members who wanted to surprise me with an odd and quirky gift. I was defined as the funny, if odd, girl who loved to laugh.

My ex-husband stole and sold all but twelve of my collection, but recently James and our children surprised me with a clown exactly like one of the ones that I had lost. It is one of my most cherished gifts, as I find it symbolic of my childhood and adulthood intertwining.

I also think that somehow, my clown collection encouraged me to keep a childlike innocence and sense of humor through all of life’s ups and downs. Hopefully, guests to our house won’t run in terror from my proudly displayed collection of 13 clowns.  Maybe, just maybe, they’ll grin and say, “You’re such a goofy girl-woman”.

5 thoughts on “Childhood Clowns

  1. Ha! Very cute. My adopted grandmother had a clown collection. It wasn’t until I was an adult that I started to find clowns creepy and most of that had to do with John Wayne Gacy. Enjoy and don’t worry about the rest of us. BTW, I feel the same way about dolls. Super creepy. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bless your heart, Gracie. I personally can’t stand clowns. My parents bought be one in Hawaii that was made from a conch shell. I swear to you that thing came to life in the hush of night and terrorized me. We have a very strained relationship…even now 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

