Alternating Directions

Alternating Directions

Alternating Directions

Ever feel dizzy by the ever-changing world around you?

I lived life this week in alternating directions, switching gears and gasping for breath just when I finally thought that I had things down.

All in all, it was a good week, just mind-numbing with the hectic pace of life.

As I sit here rocking out to John Fogerty and sipping my mocha, my head is shaking in disbelief, and yet my heart is at peace.

I may have run my body ragged this past week with all of the activity, but I can honestly say that I have intentionally fixed my gaze on the unchanging one.

Past weeks like this would have left me emotionally spent, as if I were grabbing mud with my fingernails in a weak attempt to move forward.

This week, though; this week was different.

I missed two blog posts for the first time ever.

Our only vehicle is broken.

I have traveled many, many miles this week.

I have been physically exhausted.

I am still the beloved child of God.

This week, I was transfixed by the unchanging, stable, gracious and compassionate Abba God.

I discovered the joy that is found in simply being content to be HIS child.

I have officially alternated my direction.

Instead of turning and twisting back and forth, my eyes remained only on HIM.

My situations may be alternating and swirling, but He is not moved.

Be encouraged.

I am the slowest of learners…and it has taken me nearly a decade to finally “own it”.

Beloved one, rest in Him!

25  Of old you laid the foundation of the earth,

and the heavens are the work of your hands.

26 They will perish, but you will remain;

they will all wear out like a garment.

You will change them like a robe, and they will pass away,

27  but you are the same, and your years have no end.

28 The children of your servants shall dwell secure;

their offspring shall be established before you.

 Psalm 102:25-27 ESV

Leave a Reply

