Chocolate & Beer

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Grateful and Guilty.”

Dear Chocolate (Beer, I will get to you in a moment),

Our relationship has been going strong for most of my life.  My earliest memories involve you at pivotal moments, like when I first learned to spell c-o-o-k-i-e and was rewarded with a chocolate chip trophy of deliciousness for my efforts.  I enjoy every form and shape that you embody…whether it be as a morsel, a chip, a rich ribbon of delight flowing through the center of a cake, a syrup in my milk, a hot and cozy version peppered with marshmallows, a light and milky sweetness, a dark version that causes me to give pause in silent revelry, an indulgent cherry-covered melt-in-my-mouth candy, truffles, or an almost-incognito transformation into red velvet cake.

I will gladly enjoy you first thing in the morning as a rich accompaniment to my coffee, melted into a symphony of flavors.  I will indulge with you midday, after lunch, for an afternoon pick-me-up, as a brilliant finish to a delicious feast, and, of course, as an unexpected surprise of delight at any time.

Although my house will always have that designated corner on the top shelf just for you, I need to warn you that it’s time for some adjustments.  You know how my husband James has been introducing me to the world of microbrews? Well, (this is not an easy letter to write), it’s time that my palate be rearranged to allow for the proper reflection of my new relationship with Good Beer.  I have learned that there is a vast disparity between cheap beer (a.k.a “Alcoholic Water”) and a truly artistic blend of flavors and alcohol.

Yes! It’s true, James’ coworkers have verified that we are, in fact, officially “Beer Snobs”.  Your suspicions are correct.  My devotion to you is divided.  Sometimes, we can all get together, as in the photo below…but please be advised that although you once had reign over my palate, now it will be shared with the likes of Short’s Brewing Co, Left Hand Brewing Co, Founder’s, and New Holland Brewing Co.  Don’t feel too rejected…after all, you brought me this far in life; making me who I am. Besides, I know that there are some very delicious chocolate stouts...maybe we could all hang out as friends?

Best wishes,

Gracie

Two of my palate loves photo by: Gracie K Harold 2014

Two of my palate loves photo by: Gracie K Harold 2014

2 thoughts on “Chocolate & Beer

Leave a Reply

