Five minute friday – notice

"notice - look deeper" (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

“notice – look deeper” (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

When I go for a walk or a drive, I notice things that some people don’t observe.  I see the flowers growing through the concrete, the bugs busily trailing along to store their winter food, the pattern of the snowflakes as they land on the windshield, or even the strange things that are in the tree bark.  I notice the fantasy-style faces that sometimes emerge from the scars and lines in the wood.

I think that my life reflects my observations.  If I only notice my pain, my grief, my history, then I fail to see the needs of those around me.  Instead, if I give my stuff a “limited” amount of time in my day, then I free myself up to “notice” those around me.  Quite often, I;m learning, the woman who impatiently pushes past me at the store is actually striving to fight back tears of hurt and frustration.  The person who angrily hurls mean and bitter and hurtful words at me is actually miserable and probably feeling isolated and lonely.

This week, I have been trying to notice those around me…and their needs, while limiting my focus on mine.

#fmfparty

4 thoughts on “Five minute friday – notice

  1. You are so right. We often only see what is on the surface, when there is so much more going on underneath. Keep spreading your light to others. You are making a difference and I am blessed by your post today. Lovely reminder to look beyond myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Friday Flashback | Adjustments to Normal

Leave a Reply

