Harold’s Story

Harold's Story (c)Gracie K Harold 2014

Harold’s Story (c)Gracie K Harold 2014

Grandpapa turned 18 while on base for Boot Camp during WWII. He caught scarlet fever there and almost died. After convincing his superior officers that he was recovered, he shipped out.  He had scored so highly on his placement test that the Brass called him in and told him he could have his pick of any position in the military.  He knowingly chose to be a radio operator.  I say “knowingly” because grandpapa was a wise man.  He knew that the top three most dangerous positions were captain, medic, and radio operator.

He saw so many horrors during his tour of duty that he only began to talk of his experiences when I was in middle school and I interviewed him for a class project.  His assignments took him to France, Italy, and Africa.  He would get choked up while recalling some of the atrocities that he witnessed.

He confided in us that one song was his “bolster”.

The lyrics are written below.  As you read them, picture a humble farmer-turned-soldier bravely bringing ammunition and supplies to the front lines, calling out radio communications, watching his friends die in battle for the freedom of people that they had never met.

  1. Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine!
    Oh, what a foretaste of glory divine!
    Heir of salvation, purchase of God,
    Born of His Spirit, washed in His blood.

    • Refrain:
      This is my story, this is my song,
      Praising my Savior all the day long;
      This is my story, this is my song,
      Praising my Savior all the day long.
  2. Perfect submission, perfect delight,
    Visions of rapture now burst on my sight;
    Angels, descending, bring from above
    Echoes of mercy, whispers of love.
  3. Perfect submission, all is at rest,
    I in my Savior am happy and blest,
    Watching and waiting, looking above,
    Filled with His goodness, lost in His love.

“Blessed Assurance” by Frances J. Crosby 1873 copyright: PUBLIC DOMAIN permission given.

“true story” – I authorize this photo for PUBLIC DOMAIN – Gracie K. Harold 2014

If Grandpapa can proclaim this truth in the midst of carnage and the atrocities of war, then I can raise my voice to join those who have gone on before me, proclaiming that “this is my story… I am filled with His goodness, I am lost in His love.”  Even as death swirls around me and leaves my heart jagged.

This is my story.

Is it yours?

Hear a cover of the hymn here.

One thought on “Harold’s Story

  1. Pingback: Friday Flashback | Adjustments to Normal

Leave a Reply

