Power-less

Leaps of faith are not guarantees that there will be a perfect landing.

James and I know in our marrow that College for him is the right thing.  We have full confidence that it is the right time, and even that he is attending the right place.

There are some people who disagree.

That’s fine, it’s their choice…just as this choice is ours.

All this to say that we have wrestled through some health issues in the last few months.  Despite our best efforts and even requests for help, our power went off.

I rushed to the local power company, armed with medical documents, and the last $40.00 we had.

This was on a Wednesday, and James’ last check was coming in on Friday.

The woman at the power company would not even LOOK at my medical documents, pull up the medical sheet that has been on file for 9 years, or even accept partial payment.  She refused to let me speak with a supervisor, telling me instead that she had the final say in the matter.

So, we made the most of it.

We lit candles.

We put batteries in the lanterns.

We rushed our frozen food to a family members’ freezer, and loaded the cooler with ice.

We grilled our suppers, and learned to shop for food on the day that we needed it.

We sat with the kids by lantern light and candlelight every night, telling stories or playing card games.

After they were in bed with flashlights and a book, James and I lit candles and simply enjoyed being together.

One night (we were powerless for 6 days), I asked James what the best part of his week was.

“Right now, holding you and simply talking in the candlelight.”

Of course I was choked up.

Later, as I finished my nighttime routine, I prayed over what he had said.

It was like Jesus said to me, “Gracie, every morning before you wake up, I light a candle for you.  I sit there all day and simply wait for you to stop being so busy.  I long for you to be still with me.”

Power-less (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

Power-less (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

“Be still and know that I AM GOD” Psalm 46:10

4 thoughts on “Power-less

  1. Pingback: Quick Sale | Adjustments to Normal

    • Yes, it is back on! 6 days of roughing it was enough! 😉
      I spoke to the supervisor at the electric company, and she confirmed what I thought…they were supposed to give us a 21 day extension due to medical circumstances. They failed to, so they removed all of the extra surcharges, and she gave me her direct line for the future.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

