An Unfortunate (but Funny) Oops!

Yesterday, I wrote my post, “R.I.P. Ovary”.  

I wanted a realistic “tombstone”, so I set about creating one from card stock, a marker, and coffee grounds.  James had the idea to use our dying flowers and flower pot as the background.  I uploaded the photo, brought the prop into the house, and had to use the restroom.  I laid the card stock tombstone prop on the dining room table, and went about my business.  I walked into the kitchen, and we realized that we had errands to run before the kids arrived home from school.

We left the house in a flurry, and were in the car before I realized that we had never left a note for the kids.

James had left his phone behind, so I tried to call it; but the kids did not hear the ringer.

We pulled into the driveway a bit later, and saw two little faces on the window. 

They anxiously ran out to help us unload groceries, and said, “Mommy!  We are so glad that you didn’t die!”

James and I looked at them quizzically. 

“We saw the tombstone on the table, and at first we thought you had died, but your name’s not ‘Ovary’, and daddy would have told us in person.  Then we were sad for you since your friend ‘Ovary’ died.  Mommy, who was ‘Ovary’ anyways?  Did we meet her?”

Yup. Rock Star mother of the Year Award goes right here!  😉

Those poor kids!  I re-explained an age appropriate anatomy lesson.

 Realization dawned, and Ruby stomped her foot. “You mean we were sad for your body part? Mo-ther!”

Next time, I think I need to put my props away…

R.I.P. Ovary (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

R.I.P. Ovary (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

One thought on “An Unfortunate (but Funny) Oops!

  1. Pingback: Sometimes Saturday – Remembering an ovary | Adjustments to Normal

Leave a Reply

