Performance v. Service

Bright Lights (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

Bright Lights (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

Bright Lights, Dim Shadows (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

Bright Lights, Dim Shadows (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

 Sometimes, my morning study is too close for comfort.  Today was one of those days.  The question was raised, “Do you do things for others with a focus on perfection, waiting for their approval; or do you do things with the heart of a humble servant who simply wishes to serve?” Ouch.

Nine times out of ten, I get frustrated with my family and friends if I feel that they don’t see me, or even if they fail to acknowledge the “great things that I have done to show them my love.”

A small side step is the same thing as not being fully on the original path.

Light Movement (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

Light Movement (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

My desire for hearing their praise and accolades has taken over my focus.  I have been so enthralled by hearing their “encouragement” that I have failed to direct my heartfelt deeds for God’s glory.

That’s the rub, though. All of my righteous deeds are “as filthy rags” in His sight, because they are still coming from my sin-covered heart.  Unless,  of course, I claim no goodness apart from Him.  Then, when He sees me, He sees the perfection of Jesus Christ.

Ironic, isn’t it?  When I seek the applause and accolades, I couldn’t be further away from the purpose that I was created for. Instead, when I open my arms and heart, admitting that I have no hope, no goodness, no unselfishness in me by myself; that’s when His love pours in like a waterfall.

Perspective (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

Perspective (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

 

 My heart is deluged, my soul is fulfilled, and the love inside overflows.  I can’t help but be grateful. Words escape me, so I simply reach out in love to others…for the One who loves me so tenderly and accepts me as is.

One thought on “Performance v. Service

Leave a Reply

