“I Will Not Cry”

“I never got to meet you,

I never saw your face.

I never heard you laugh

and never saw you cry.

We didn’t get to laugh,

we didn’t get to cry,

we didn’t get to play

or even get to fight.

All I have is a name

and now you’re gone.

Yet still I will not cry.

I will not cry yet.

I will not shed a tear.

For one day I will get to meet you.

Then I will cry

great tears of joy,

for on that day I will

get to meet my baby boy.”

Written about Samuel Nathan, for Gracie K. Harold by James Harold.

(c)Gracie K. Harold for James Harold 2014.

"I will not cry"(c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

“I will not cry”(c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

It’s been close to a year…we miss you Samuel.

2 thoughts on ““I Will Not Cry”

    • Thank you! I was so sad that day, and James quietly slipped into the room and handed me the poem that he had written about our son. Somehow, knowing that he was grieving beside me validated my pain while strengthening me to focus on our future hope.

      Like

Leave a Reply

