Raw Yet Strong

Raw (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

Raw (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

1raw

adjective: : in a natural state : not treated or prepared

Full Definition of RAW   c :  not being in polished, finished, or processed form

First Known Use: before 12th century
Taken from Merriam-Webster® Dictionary services
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         
I feel raw.  Raw, as in, “not diluted or blended”.  This has also been called “Gracie, un-filtered”.   Another way of saying it is “c :  not being in polished, finished, or processed form”.  Anyone who has read more than one of my posts should know by now that I am blunt when I speak the truth in love…and I usually err on the side of saying a whole lotta truth.
I feel rough, and irritated.  Have you ever felt like there is dirt or sand in your heart?
I am aggravated with the feeling that I am so far from being finished.  I think my heart and emotions must look like unfinished, raw planks today.
I wish that I was smooth and sleek like mahogany in my soul.  I wish I was sweet like Tupelo honey, but I’m not.
I feel splintered, and jagged, and possibly even held together by rusty old nails.
I am weary of feeling blah.  I am tired of being tired and “resting”.
I am tired of grieving, and lamenting.
I want to feel better.  I want my surgery to be done already.
(Apparently feeling raw means whining, but today I really.don’t.care.)
I don’t want to leave slivers of bitterness and gloom whenever someone gets too close to me.
I’m worried.  How will my surgery change me?  Will I still be attractive as I heal?  Will I become frumpy?  How can I prepare to still look relatively decent when I feel like crap?  Even now, I feel gross…which results in me feeling ugly.
When will I learn to see my image through my Creator’s eyes?  He sees the beauty within.
He sees all of the raw boards and jagged edges coming together to support the steps of faith that I continue to take.
raw faith (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

raw faith (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

Hebrews 11:1, “Now faith is assurance of things hoped for, proof of things not seen” (HNV)

4 thoughts on “Raw Yet Strong

Leave a Reply

