The Mitten

I am a Michigander.  I don’t like being called a “Michiganian” because for some reason it causes me to think of “The Smithsonian” (which I hope to take the children to see someday)…and it sounds a bit pretentious.  “Michigander” makes me think of small towns, pristine lakes, cottages where bacon and eggs are frying, geese honking their morning hellos over the lake, and Blue Herons swooping in for breakfast while swans glide in the background.

No matter where I’ve lived or how far I’ve traveled; my home is where the trees stand tall, the flowers are fragrant, and the water is a short drive away.

I was delighted to find two highly talented editors in the West Michigan area, as well as an incredible photographer and a brilliant graphic designer.  We found a church where we are loved as we learn how to grow.

I’ve found a writing haven (or two), where I can diligently escape from the world until I need conversation to spark me back into my work.  Translation: thank you Simpatico!

Simpatico (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

Simpatico (c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

I’ve discovered a small town which offers parks, museums, artistic expression, and a slew of restaurants that we are determined to dine at!  The beach is a short ride away, and the walking paths are just outside our doorstep.

We are officially based on the lake shore now, and we are so happy to call Holland our home.

If you are ever in our area, prepare to slow down, enjoy the people that are next to you, and take time to smell the tulips.

(c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

(c)Gracie K. Harold 2014

 

If you’d like to read more about our adventures while living in Michigan, you can also purchase my book, “Across the Street From Normal”.

Leave a Reply

